Research Guides
Year 7Year 8Year 9Year 10Year 11Year 12
PROFESSIONAL READING
This is the "Databases & Digital Resources" page of the "Saint Stephen's iCentre" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
CRICOS Provider Number 01938G

Saint Stephen's iCentre  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ssc.qld.edu.au/iCentre Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases & Digital Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

DATABASE PASSWORDS

Working from home? Lost your password list?  You'll find them on your home page in Brightspace.

UQL Cyberschool

   

                                                                                                                          

Includes journals and periodicals covering a wide variety of disciplines, from social science, humanities and politics to medicine, general interest and science.

 

More than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts in addition to thousands of maps, pictures, and educator-approved websites .

 

Echo

Ideal for debaters, public speakers or if you are looking at both sides of an argument on a topical issue. Also contains online newspaper sources.

 

NAXOS Music Libraries

These libraries collectively provide an invaluable resource for schools, universities, music schools, public libraries, music professionals and collectors.

 

KHAN ACADEMY

"Learn almost anything for free."  

 

The Khan Academy houses over 3000 videos [each video is approximately 10 minutes long] covering topics from basic arithmatic to organic chemistry.  

 

Twig World - Science videos

Image result for twig world

Educational videos for Science and Geography.

 

WORLD LIBRARY OF SCIENCE

The World Library of Science is a free online resource developed as a partnership between UNESCO and Macmillan Science and Education. This online Library offers quality Nature Education digital content in short eBooks and articles.

 

Semantic Scholar

Semantic Scholar may help you in your search for scientific publications.  One click will filter search results by full-text PDF availability, and Semantic Scholar offers an automatic citation tool as well.

 

STOP!

Before you begin your research...

 

1. List five specific things about your topic that you are looking for.

2. What do you already know about this?

3. Have you checked in your notes and/or textbook? 

4. What are the other words and phrases people would use to describe your topic?

5. What words and phrases might you expect to see in your search results?

DATABASES

                                                                                                             

History Reference Center 

The database includes full-text content from 150 leading history journals. 

 

                                                                                                       

JSTOR

With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

 
Mendeley

 

Mendeley Research papers

Search Mendeley’s crowd-sourced research catalogue with millions of papers.

 
 
 

 

The Public Library of Science

A non-profit group and publisher aiming to make as many scientific journal articles accessible to the public as possible.

 Pub Med Central
 

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is a post-print repository for the Life Sciences containing research publications from work funded by the U.S. National Institute of Health. 

 

National Library of Australia

Thousands of Australian and online resources, including books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.

 
 

ERIC Institute of Education Sciences

ERIC Institute of Education Sciences 

ERIC's collection includes peer-reviewed journal articles; grey literature such as conference papers, white papers, and unpublished reports; and government produced research reports.

 

DOCUMENTARY.NET

Documentary.net offers an array of legal documentaries that are avalable for free streaming and downloading.  The films can be viewed on PCs and Mac computers as well as on laptops or mobile devices like Android powered smartphones and tablets or iPhones and iPads. Users can browse through various genres or select from different lengths: less than 10min, 11-30 minutes, or longer than 30 minutes.

 

Study Vibe

We now have a school membership for this site. Login details may be found on Brightspace.

Take the time to explore this fantastic resource - beneath the Toolbox tab you will find subject-specific resources for many curriculum areas.

 

Churchill Archive

The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

 

Worth a look

Tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel: John Green teaches you World History 2; Hank Green teaches you Anatomy & Physiology; Phil Plait teaches you Astronomy; Craig Benzine teaches you U.S. Government and Politics.

 

Welcome to our awesome online study channel! We have hundreds of short videos with fun teachers for all high school subjects including Math, Science & English; plus Test Prep programs. 

More Great Resources

 Library Webs

Websites on a huge range of topics, already filtered for you by the experts.

Britannica Online

 

Credible, up to date information on a wide range of topics.

Britannica Image Quest

 

Gold Coast City Council

 

Australian Dictionary of Biography

The Australian Dictionary of Biography is Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. In it you will find concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of significant and representative persons in Australian history.

The ADB is produced by the National Centre of Biography at the Australian National University. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip